Ar. Sumit Bagade bags V D Joshi Award

Ferrocement Day in AISSMS college

Pune: Ar. Sumit Bagade wins the competition for the best ferrocement structure award for 2019. He built a gazebo temple at RAJ VASTU in Satara city. This year other participants were also felicitated. Nandkumar Jadhav (Mega Cave resort), Dipak Kanhere (Ferro house), Ravindra Nale (Temple ferro dome), Mitra Engineers and Architects (Spherical ferrocement tank) were the four experts who had submitted the entry.

Ferrocement Society has decided to celebrate 3rd September as the Ferrocement Day every year, in the memory of Great Engineer Late V. D. Joshi. Ferrocement Society organizes such competition every year on this occasion. The award is given to the best ferrocement structure. Previous year winners were Ar. Anupama Kundoo (Australia), Owen Waldschlagel (USA), Arch. Ajay Thosar, Pune, Er. Biji John, Chenganassery, Kerala, and Shrishilp Consultants, Aurangabad. This is the seventh year. Late Vishnu D. Joshi was the pioneer of Ferrocement technology. The award is started in remembrance of Late Joshi.

Er Subhash Patil won the V D Joshi award of 2018. He builta 6 meter high arch type ferrocement dam at Village Hatnur, District Sangli, Maharashtra. Other participants last year were Reliance Foundation and Dnyan Prabodhini.

Ar. Vaishali Mohite, Chandrashekhar Hangekar, Suhas Mahamuni and Pushyamitra Divekar worked as Jury for the competition. The selection is based on the presentation, percentage use of ferrocement, innovative ideas etc. Shri R K Nitturkar, Chief Engineer, Retired, Prakash Nagnath, Prof. Parekar, Ulhas Adhav were also present for the function. AISSMS Deputy Chairman Suresh Shinde was the Guest of Honour and Prin D S Bormane was the Chief Guest. The function was organized by HOD Dr. Uttam Awari, anchored by P P Lele, Hon Secreatry, FS. Er Girish Sangle gave vote of thanks.